RSS Facebook Twitter YouTube Podcast Open in Mobile App

« Collies In The Meadow- Hallie Gal, who made me laugh more than any other | Main | Introduction »

Daniel Gibson Chosen as Participant in 2011 Three-Point Contest

Even though the Cavaliers have lost an NBA record 25 consecutive games, they'll still be represented at All-Star Weekend in Los Angeles.

The NBA announced today that Daniel Gibson will be one of the six participants in the Foot Locker Three-Point Contest, which will take place on Saturday, Feb. 19.

Gibson is shooting 43.9% from the three-point line for the season, connecting on 79 of his 180 attempts in 41 games. This will be his second appearance in the contest, with his first coming in 2008. He finished second that year to Jason Kapono, who earned 25 points in the final round for the win.

Gibson will be joined by Dorell Wright (Golden State), James Jones (Miami), Kevin Durant (Oklahoma City), Paul Pierce (Boston) and Ray Allen (Boston), who has a chance to become the NBA's all-time leader in three-pointers made on Thursday night.

Injuries have forced Gibson to miss 11 games this season and as a result he's ranked just 27th in the league in terms of total three-point field goals. However, he's in the top 10 in three-point percentage.

Dorell Wright leads the league with 124 makes. Allen is tied for 3rd with 115, Jones is 11th with 92, Durant is 17th with 85 and Pierce 43rd with 72. Allen is also 3rd among all qualified players with a 46.2% mark - the rest of the order goes (in descending order) Gibson in 10th (43.9%), Jones in 14th (42.7%), Wright in 24th (40.9%), Pierce in 31st (40.1%) and Durant in 94th (34.7%).

As is typical with many selections for All-Star weekend, a good amount of attention is paid to those who didn't make the cut. So far, the most popular "snubs" are Anthony Morrow of New Jersey (63 makes, 43.3%), Matt Bonner of San Antonio (60 makes, 50.4% - No. 2 in league) and Shawne Williams of New York (44 makes, 50.6% - leads league).

This will be Wright, Jones and Durant's first appearance in the contest. Ray Allen won back in 2001 as a member of the Milwaukee Bucks and Paul Pierce is the defending champion.


The comments to this entry are closed. Video Corner

MTR Radio: Click Below to Listen Online Now 24/7!

blog advertising is good for you


View My Stats